06. (b) (2020-06)

CAUT Collective Bargaining & Economic Benefits Committee Comité de la négociation collective et des avantages économiques de l'ACPPU

Memorandum Re: Donald C. Savage Award Recommendation

Date: June 14, 2020

To: CAUT Council

From: Sue Blair, Chair

Nominations for the Donald C. Savage Award were reviewed by the CBEBC at their June 2020 meeting. The members of the Committee unanimously recommended the OPSEU CAAT-Academic 2017 Bargaining Team as the award recipient. The committee wished to convey the excellence of all the nominees.

This bargaining team's contributions to collective bargaining in the post-secondary education sector in Ontario and Canada are many. Their mobilization shone a spotlight on the dramatic growth of contract academic staff and created a platform for academic staff across Canada to address similar concerns about the rise of precarity, threats to academic freedom, and the erosion of public funding in their own workplaces.

Through the mobilization of nearly 13,000 college faculty across Ontario, the OPSEU CAAT-Academic 2017 Bargaining Team achieved academic freedom language, on par with most universities and gained meaningful seniority for partial load faculty that allows these members to have priority in course assignment so they are able to have some measure of job stability.

The 2017 Bargaining Team executed one of the most successful labour actions in the history of the Ontario college system and demonstrated the power that comes with moving towards a mobilizing approach to bargaining. Another win was the bargaining team's ability to link their bargaining demands to the public good, thereby harnessing the support and solidarity of students, parents, and the public.

This bargaining team invested in training to build the capacity of the 24 individual local unions. This included initiating a new modernized communications strategy, updating the bargaining procedures to democratize their system with a Bargaining Advisory Committee that engaged more rank and file members, and changing the ways they advanced bargaining demands so that each constituent group had priority demands. This work in particular is of increasing importance and should serve as a model for chief negotiators.



Sue Blair // CHAIR // PRÉSIDENTE // UNB Bob Davis // FPSE BC Lee Easton // Mt. Royal John Kingma // Laval

Jennifer Love Green // Regina Desmond Maley // Laurentian/Laurentienne Larry Savage // Brock

Michael Shaw // Manitoba

